Vendor Information

The Business Services Center is responsible for issuing purchase orders and processing payments on behalf of state agencies through the Statewide Financial System (SFS). This includes a vendor self-service portal that allows vendors to access information on payments.

All vendors should consider signing up for Electronic Payments with OSC to ensure that once your invoice is processed by the BSC, funds are transferred to your account quickly and securely.  More information on Electronic Payments is available on the OSC website.

For quicker processing, vendors should send only one invoice per E-mail. For questions on previously submitted invoices or past due invoices, please contact APinquiries@ogs.ny.gov.

Vendor FAQs

15 Day Pay Bill

  • Q.
    What is an electronic invoice?
    A.

    Electronic invoicing (also called eInvoices and eInvoicing) is a paperless form of electronic billing.  eInvoices flow into the SFS Accounts Payable system from the vendor, then are automatically matched to Purchase Orders and receipts, then channeled for approval, and routed for payment.  This streamlines the AP invoicing process and increases process efficiency.

    Vendors will select a method of eInvoicing:

    • Self Service Invoice: manually create an invoice directly in SFS with eSettlements
    • File Transfer: XML file transfer file from Vendor Billing System to eSettlements (Vendors must contact SFS Help Desk to initiate and test the XML interface process)
  • Q.
    What is eSettlements?
    A.

    eSettlements is a module in SFS that enables vendors to submit electronic invoices (eInvoices). 

  • Q.
    What is the 15 day pay bill?
    A.

    A a legislative amendment to the Prompt Payment Law (State Finance Law section 179-f) that requires State agencies to pay qualified small businesses within 15 days after receipt of an electronic invoice or goods/services, whichever is later.  If payment is not made within 15 days, interest will begin to accrue to the small business.  (Note: interest is paid if $10 or more.)

  • Q.
    How is the 15 day pay bill amendment different from the existing Prompt Pay legislation?
    A.

    Prompt Pay legislation requires State agencies to pay vendors (also referred to as suppliers), regardless of business size, within 30 days of receipt of an invoice or goods/services, whichever is later.  If paid after 30 days, interest will begin to accrue to the vendor.  (Note: interest is paid if $10 or more.)  The amendment updates the legislation to require State agencies to pay qualified small businesses within 15 days, rather than 30 days.

  • Q.
    When did the 15 day pay bill go into effect?
    A.

             March 31, 2017

  • Q.
    What are the requirements for a small business vendor to qualify?
    A.

    A vendor must meet all of the following criteria:

    • your primary place of business is in New York State;
    • you have a significant business presence in the state;
    • you are independently owned and operated;
    • you are not dominant in your field; and,
    • you employ no more than two hundred employees.
  • Q.
    What is the definition of “primary place of business in New York State”?
    A.

    The primary place of business is the state where vendors’ owners or officers direct, control, and coordinate vendors’ activities.

  • Q.
    What is the definition of “has a significant business presence in the State”?
    A.

    A significant business presence means the business is authorized to do business in New York State and makes a contribution to the New York State economy through payment of taxes or the purchase of products or materials made in New York State, or has any payroll in New York State. 

  • Q.
    What is the definition of “is independently owned and operated”?
    A.

    In order to be independently owned and operated, the vendor cannot be a subsidiary, division, or member of another entity or otherwise be controlled by another entity.  

  • Q.
    What is the definition of “not dominant in its field”?
    A.

    In order for the vendor to not be dominant in its field, the vendor must not exercise a controlling influence on an industry in its field of operation. 

  • Q.
    Are there any restrictions when a vendor can certify as a 15 day small business, for example - during a contract period?
    A.

    There are no restrictions on when a vendor can certify as a 15 day small business.  Therefore, a vendor can start a contract as a “regular” vendor, but during the contract self-certify as a small business vendor.  The eInvoices submitted after self-certifying as a 15 day small business vendor are then eligible for 15 day processing. 

  • Q.
    A vendor has self-certified that it is a 15 day small business, however, our agency has reason to believe the vendor does not meet all of the legislation’s requirements. What do we do?
    A.

    State agencies may ask a vendor to validate their eligibility for 15 day pay.  Agencies will send a letter to the vendor, which will require the vendor to complete a form.  If a vendor does not reply to agency inquiries regarding their eligibility, the 15 day small business designation may be revoked.

  • Q.
    How do I get certified as a 15 day small business?
    A.

    It's easy to do online in the SFS Vendor Portal, under Supplier Maintenance.

  • Q.
    When can I certify as a 15 day small business?
    A.

    Vendors may self-certify as a small business through the SFS Vendor Portal beginning January 29, 2017.

  • Q.
    If our business no longer meets the requirements to be considered a 15 day small business, what do we do?
    A.

    Vendors can decertify as a 15 day small business in the SFS Vendor Portal.

  • Q.
    How do we decertify our 15 day small business status?
    A.

    On the SFS Vendor Portal, under Supplier Maintenance, then “Self-Certify as a NYS Prompt Pay Small Business”, vendors are able to update their 15 day small business status.

  • Q.
    A state agency that contracts with us asked us to confirm our 15 day small business status. How does our business reply?
    A.

    Follow the instructions on the letter you received and submit your response timely to the agency.  

  • Q.
    A state agency that we do business with, has asked us to confirm our 15 day small business status. What happens if we do not reply?
    A.

    Failure to reply timely may result in revocation of your 15 day small business designation, until such time that a certified statement is received.  

  • Q.
    What documentation is required to be provided to confirm a vendor’s eligibility as a small business?
    A.

    Vendors who self-certified as a 15 day small business may be required at any time and upon request to provide to any State agency with which the vendor contracts, or to the Office of the State Comptroller (OSC) for auditing purposes, sufficient documentation to confirm the vendor’s eligibility as a Small Business.  Documentation required to confirm a vendor’s eligibility as a small business can include, but is not limited to, a true, executed copy of the vendor’s federal and state tax returns, including all statements and schedules as filed for the prior taxable year, payroll records, forms W-2, proof of ownership, or any other relevant documentation requested by the contracting agency or OSC. 

  • Q.
    Will existing vendors have a default 15 day small business setting?
    A.

    Existing SFS vendors will not have the government classification for 15 day small business, unless the vendor self-certifies. 

  • Q.
    Will newly-created vendors have a default 15 day small business setting?
    A.

    Newly created SFS vendors will not have the government classification for 15 day small business, unless the vendor self-certifies.   

  • Q.
    How are eInvoice numbers generated - by vendor or by SFS?
    A.

    Vendors enter their own invoice numbers for eInvoices, as would appear on their paper invoices.  Therefore, eInvoice numbers are generated by the vendor, not SFS. 

  • Q.
    Can duplicate invoice numbers be used in eInvoicing?
    A.

      Duplicate invoice numbers cannot be used in eInvoicing. 

  • Q.
    How does our business submit invoices to be eligible for 15 day payment?
    A.

    A method of invoicing must be submitted. Vendors select a method of eInvoicing:

    • Self-Service Invoice: Manually create an invoice directly in SFS within eSettlements.
    • File Transfer: XML file transfer file from Vendor Billing System to eSettlements (Vendors must contact SFS Help Desk to initiate and test the XML interface process).
  • Q.
    If our business submits a paper invoice, faxes an invoice, or emails an invoice, can that be considered an electronic invoice?
    A.

    Only eInvoices submitted through Self-Service in SFS or XML file are considered electronic invoices and are eligible for interest after 15 days.  Invoices submitted by any other method require data entry by New York State staff and will not be considered eligible for interest after 15 days.

  • Q.
    Are there any requirements to electronic invoicing?
    A.

    Before your business can submit an eInvoice, you need to:

    • Certify your business
    • Create a SFS Vendor Portal account in the SFS (you will need your 10-digit vendor number).
    • Enroll in ePayments on the SFS Vendor Portal to receive electronic transfer of funds direct to your bank account via ACH processing. 
    • Small businesses will self-certify that they meet the above requirements in the SFS Vendor Portal (eSupplier).  Self-certification includes agreeing with a certification statement online.
    • Enroll in Electronic Invoicing (eSettlements) on the SFS Vendor Portal.  
  • Q.
    What State agencies can receive eInvoices?
    A.

    A list of State agencies that have eSettlement capability in SFS is listed on the OSC website (www.osc.state.ny.us). 
    Note that “certain departments within the agency are able to interact electronically with businesses now, while other departments will be phased in over time”. 

  • Q.
    What training is available to vendors?
    A.

    SFS has a vendor training course available to vendors through the help link on the SFS Vendor Portal https://esupplier.sfs.ny.gov/psp/fscm/SUPPLIER/?cmd=login&languageCd=ENG&

  • Q.
    What if a self-certified small business vendor submits a paper invoice, instead of an eInvoice? Will the payment terms be proper?
    A.

    When the voucher is built in SFS, SFS will apply payment term and scheduled payment due dates for 15 day or 30 day processing, accordingly.  Therefore, if a paper invoice is submitted, the scheduled payment due date will be 30 days, because it is not an eInvoice.

  • Q.
    How are eInvoices processed?
    A.

    Promptly after goods and services are received, agencies record receiving in SFS.  When a vendor submits an electronic invoice, SFS will generate a voucher and systematically seek a matching receipt. If a match is found, the voucher can be approved by the Agency or BSC and the Office of the State Comptroller (OSC) will review and pay the vendor. If a match exception or budget exception is found, the voucher will appear on the related report and the agency will need to research and resolve. Agencies must review the voucher and receipt(s) and make any necessary adjustments. Once corrections are made and matching can successfully occur, BSC will enter and approve the voucher and OSC will review/audit and pay the vendor.

  • Q.
    What is the process flow for eProcurement?
    A.

    The process flow for eProcurement is:

    • Agency creates a requisition
    • Requisition line item chartfields are entered
    • Agency sources requisition to purchase order
    • Purchase order dispatches
    • Vendor fulfills purchase order by providing goods or services
    • Agency enters receiving information
    • Vendor submits eInvoice
    • Voucher is built via eSettlement
    • Voucher, purchase order and receipts are matched, as applicable, or payment authorization is obtained
    • Vendor is paid via ACH
  • Q.
    What guidance has been issued?
    A.

    OSC issued guidance on the 15 day certification (Vendor File Advisory 8) and updated the corresponding section in the Guide to Financial Operations (GFO). In addition, OSC’s website has been updated adding a new page entitled “15-Day Prompt Payments for Small Businesses”. Also, OSC updated the GFO about prompt payment interest to reflect the new law in Section XII.5.I.1 Prompt Payment Interest.

  • Q.
    Can a vendor delete an eInvoice?
    A.

    Vendors cannot delete an eInvoice. However, if a vendor wants to request that an eInvoice be deleted, BSC can delete the eInvoice for BSC transactions/customer agencies. For these matters, email BSC at ogs.sm.einvoices@ogs.ny.gov with a detailed description.

  • Q.
    Can a vendor edit a submitted eInvoice?
    A.

    Vendors cannot edit a submitted eInvoice. However, if a BSC customer agency provides supporting documentation from the vendor to edit an eInvoice, BSC will edit a submitted eInvoice. For these matters, email BSC at ogs.sm.einvoices@ogs.ny.gov with a detailed description.

  • Q.
    Our business is trying to enter an eInvoice, but the related purchase order is not listed on Self-Service? What do we do?
    A.

    Vendors can go to www.osc.state.ny.us to view a list of Business Units (agencies) that participate in eSettlements.  If the Business Unit is not on the list, an eInvoice cannot be submitted.  If the Business Unit is listed, then the vendor should reach out to the agency for assistance with the purchase order.  Contact the agency you do business with to discuss.

  • Q.
    Our business wants to eInvoice, but the State Agency has not processed a purchase order yet. What do we do?
    A.

    Vendors to NY State cannot invoice agencies until you have received a purchase order which authorizes you to provide goods and services. Contact the agency you do business with to discuss.

  • Q.
    Our Purchase Order is closed, but we still need to submit an eInvoice. What do we do?
    A.

    Contact the agency you do business with to discuss.

  • Q.
    Our Purchase was closed, but we still need to submit an eInvoice. What do we do?
    A.

    Contact the agency you do business with to discuss.

  • Q.
    Our business self-certified as a 15 days small business and submitted an eInvoice prior to March 31, 2017. However, our eInvoice was not paid within 15 day, and interest was not received. Why not?
    A.

    Although vendors can self-certify as a 15 day small business and submit eInvoices prior to March 31, 2017, the 15 day pay bill does not go into effect until March 31, 2017.  

  • Q.
    When will a 15 day pay certified small business receive interest?
    A.

    eInvoices submitted after vendor self-certification are eligible for interest if not paid within 15 days.  Also, note interest is only paid if $10 or more.

General Vendor

  • Q.
    How do I submit invoices to the BSC?
    A.

    Submit invoices to the proper location:

    • When possible, submit a PDF version of your invoice via email to accountspayable@ogs.ny.gov or bscleaseinvoices@ogs.ny.gov if it is lease specific.  The subject line should include the Invoice Number, Name of Agency being billed and the Unit ID if applicable. If sent electronically, do not send a paper copy of the invoice as this can cause duplication which may slow down the payment process.
    • If submitting a paper copy of the invoice, send it to:

    Name of Agency indicated on PO
    Unit ID (if applicable): xxxxxxx
    c/o NYS OGS BSC Accounts Payable
    Building 5, 5th floor
    1220 Washington Ave. Albany, NY 12226-1900

    Or for leases, send it to:

    Name of Agency indicated on PO
    Unit ID (if applicable): xxxxxxx
    c/o BSC Lease Unit
    Building 5, 6th floor
    1220 Washington Ave. Albany, NY 12226-1900

     

  • Q.
    What information should be on my invoice?
    A.
    • Name of the NYS Agency indicated on the purchase order
    • Invoice number and/or Account number
    • Invoice date
    • Supplier’s name and NYS Statewide Financial System (SFS) Vendor Number
    • A valid NYS Purchase Order (PO) Number
    • The Agency Unit ID of the unit that received the goods or services, if applicable.  This information can be found on the first line of the purchase order
    • Line item details that match the corresponding PO line item, including accurate prices, quantities and descriptions of goods and services delivered and dates of service if applicable
    • Valid contact information in the event outreach is needed

     

  • Q.
    I received a letter indicating that my invoice has been returned as it does not contain the required information. What do I do next?
    A.

    Your invoice was identified as missing information required to process the invoice and issue payment. The missing information was indicated with the returned invoice.  Please update your invoice and re-submit to the designated payment office with the required information.

  • Q.
    Will the return of my invoice delay payment?
    A.

    Yes; however, payment cannot be issued until a proper invoice is received with all required information.  Prompt correction and resubmission of your invoice will allow us to process your payment as timely as possible. To ensure timely processing of future invoices, please ensure all information is included with each submission.

  • Q.
    How is interest calculated?
    A.

    Interest is calculated on the later of (1) the date on which the Agency received a proper invoice in its designated payment office, or (2) the date on which the Agency received the purchased goods, property or services covered by the invoice.  This date is referred to as the Merchandise/invoice Received date (MIR date).   Below are key components of the payment process:

    • Designated payment offices appear on the Purchase Order or contract and often differ from the shipping address.
    • A proper invoice is a request for payment submitted by the vendor that provides substantiating documentation that the Office of the State Comptroller (OSC) and the state agency may reasonably require as detailed above.
    • The required payment date is 30 calendar days, excluding legal holidays after the Merchandise Invoice Received (MIR) date.
    • New York State becomes liable for interest of $10.00 or more for payments made after the required payment date.
    • When an invoice is returned to a vendor for missing information, the MIR date is no earlier than the date the corrected, proper invoice is received.
  • Q.
    I have never had my invoices returned before, nor have I included all of the information required above. Why is this information now required?
    A.

    In 2012, New York State implemented the Business Services Center (BSC), a shared services center responsible for the centralized processing of transactions for a number of state agencies.  Since invoices are received at the BSC for over 60 different agencies, it is critical that each invoice clearly identify the specific information needed to process payment.

  • Q.
    Why do I need a purchase order number?
    A.

    The Purchase Order number on your invoice allows the Business Services Center to match your invoice to the correct Purchase Order issued by the agency to your business. This ensures accuracy and decreases the amount of time to process payment.

  • Q.
    How do I get a valid purchase order number?
    A.

    The purchase order number is located on the purchase order document you receive when an agency places an order with your business. A supplier can also login to the SFS vendor portal to view their purchase orders with agencies. Questions about access to the SFS vendor portal should be referred to helpdesk@sfs.ny.gov

  • Q.
    Where do I find more information on what to include on my invoice?
    A.

    This information is detailed above, is included on the purchase order and is also posted on the BSC website at bsc.ogs.ny.gov under the vendor section.

  • Q.
    What is an SFS vendor ID and where can I get that information?
    A.

    The SFS vendor ID is the State-assigned ten-digit vendor number used by New York State to identify its vendors.  The SFS vendor ID is listed on the purchase order.  Vendors may contact the New York State agency they do business with for their assigned ten-digit vendor number.  In addition, suppliers can register for access to the SFS vendor portal for more information. 

  • Q.
    What is an agency Unit ID and where can I get that information?
    A.

    An agency Unit ID identifies the department within a State agency.  This information will be found on the Purchase Order, if applicable. Not all agencies require a Unit ID.